Jalapeno Cilantro Dip on a Burger

Jalapeño-Cilantro Dip

What do you do when your husband goes all Whole30 on you a few days after you bought some fancy organic sour cream for a recipe he can no longer have… ? You check the date on it and find a recipe that uses sour cream! 😀 Months ago, I came across a pin for Cilantro-Jalapeno Dip on Pinterest, but when I clicked through to it, the recipe wasn’t there. The pin was no good, so I went on a quest to track it down. After a lot of hunting to find the original recipe, and I located it added it to my Recipes notebook in Evernote to try someday. As luck would have it, yesterday was THE DAY!

We joke that ketchup is the spiciest salsa my husband can handle, but every now and then he will surprise me and tolerate something with a little kick. The dip I made yesterday would be too spicy for him, but he didn’t feel left out because I made him some Whole30-approved ketchup for Father’s Day. He reports that the ketchup was not spicy. #winning

On the other hand, my dad, my Father-in-Law, my sister-in-Law (Dale’s sis) and I LOVE spicy food so for Father’s Day I thought I would try this spicy dip recipe. Oh boy, is this dip good!! It was even better than I had imagined and I shall now refer to this as The Best Dip I Have Ever Had. Yep, it bumped Black Lentil & Jalapeno Dip to second place. Sorry, Miriam Foods!

When I brought this dip to the family gathering on Dad’s Day, it was a huge hit! We dipped sesame crackers in it and then I spread some on my bunless Black Angus grass-fed beef burger. My sis-in-law also spread some on her burger and we both loved it! I’ll be dipping sticks of celery, jicama, carrots and cauliflower in it as a snack soon. It would also be amazing on a taco salad or burrito bowl.

Here’s the recipe, which was adapted from this one. I’m listing what I used, and if you don’t want to use the organic version of my ingredients, sub them for something else. I strongly suggest you use Real mayonnaise and Hidden Valley name brand ranch dressing mix. For my fellow gluten-free friends, you’ll be happy to know that Hidden Valley ranch dressing mix is gluten-free!

Jalapeno-Cilantro Dip

Jalapeño-Cilantro Dip
Makes: approx. 24 ounces

Ingredients:
8 organic jalapeño peppers
1 bunch of organic cilantro
2 ounces (56.8 g) of dry Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix
1 cup organic sour cream
1 cup Best Foods Real Mayonnaise

Directions:

After washing and patting dry the cilantro bunch, chop off the lower part of the stems, just above where the grocery store wrapped the tie around the bundle. Place the cilantro leaves into the work bowl of a medium or large food processor.

With a sharp knife, lop off the top of the jalapeño peppers and cut them in half, lengthwise. Unless you can handle the heat, remove the seeds and insides of the peppers using gloves or a paring knife. Place the peppers in the food processor, then thoroughly purée the jalapeños and cilantro in a food processor or blender until it resembles green paste.

Add the powdery dry ranch mix, sour cream and mayonnaise to the food processor and pulse until well-combined. Taste test it and give yourself a pat on the back for making something so delicious!

Transfer the dip into and airtight container and refrigerate for an hour to meld the flavors together.

Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

