Pepperoni Pizza Quesadillas

Today’s delicious dinner was inspired by a beautiful picture I pinned on Pinterest last night (but all photos used in my blog are my own). As I pinned the beautiful picture of a pizza quesadilla and marinara dipping sauce, I decided I would be making two recipes found on Pinterest this week.

20120521-193653.jpg

These icky 70s golden counter-tops are NOT helpful for food photos, sorry.

The original recipe can be found here: original Pepperoni Pizza Quesadillas.

Here is the exact recipe I made, using my trusty food scale. Your quesadilla can be made with less calories by using a lower calorie tortilla; using one folded in half; using less sauce; omitting the meat. Click here to pin my recipe for Pepperoni Pizza Quesadillas.

Ingredients for One Quesadilla:
2 flour tortillas (Mission Medium Soft Taco)
68 g pizza sauce (Trader Giotto’s Tomato Basil Marinara) plus more for dipping
10 slices of pepperoni (Armour turkey pepperoni)
49 g shredded cheese (Trader Joe’s Lite 3 Cheese Blend)
Optional:
8 sprays I Can’t Believe it’s Not Butter! Spray
6 slices of pickled jalapeños (Mezzetta)

Directions:
Place a nonstick skillet onto the stovetop and heat to Medium.

Spoon a small amount of sauce onto one side of each tortilla. I used about 25 g of sauce on each side and this was enough sauce to make it perfectly saucy, so I didn’t have to dip the cooked pieces in marinara after. On one of the tortillas, sprinkle shredded cheese over the sauce, then add the pepperoni and any other fillings that sound delicious. Top it off with a little more cheese to help bind the layers together, then put the other tortilla on top, sauce side face down.

20120521-193632.jpg

Place the uncooked quesadilla onto the hot, nonstick pan. Watch closely or it may burn! Lightly mist to top uncooked tortilla with buttery spray for a little more crispy, buttery “crust.” After 90 seconds of cooking, check the bottom of the quesadilla with a nonstick spatula and flip over. Spray the cooked side with buttery spray and keep flipping every 90 seconds or so until your quesadilla is perfectly browned!

20120521-193640.jpg

The pictures I took were of the first one I made, which was too dark but still tasty. The second one was a more golden brown and I am told it was perfect. This was a very easy to make, fast meal and I think it would be perfect for an after-school snack.

20120521-193612.jpg

Thanks for reading my blog and bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

