Low Calorie Pita Pizza Close-Up

Easy Low-Cal Pita Pizzas

Today I shared a picture with friends of the low-calorie pita pizza I made for lunch and had friends asking for the recipe. So, I’ve finally started a food blog where I will occasionally share some of my favorite recipes.

When I was growing up at home, one of my favorite meals was Dad’s grilled pita pizzas! I don’t have a grill, so whenever I’ve made pita pizzas at my own home I’ve made them in my toaster oven or the regular oven and they still turned out delicious.

Low Calorie Pita Pizza Close-Up

Low Calorie Pita Pizza Close-Up

I used to use Jasmine brand pita pockets but I can’t find them in my local grocery store anymore, so I bought the lowest calorie pitas I could find. It changes depending on which store I shop. A few nights ago I used 170 calorie pitas and they were great, but THIS brand pictured below is my new favorite and it’s worth every one of the 200 calories.

Main Ingredients for a Low Calorie Pita Pizza

Main Ingredients for a Low Calorie Pita Pizza

Click here to Pin this “Easy Low-Cal Pita Pizzas” recipe on Pinterest.

Easy Low-Cal Pita Pizzas

Ingredients:
1 pita pocket or pita flatbread

1/3 cup pre-made marinara sauce (adjust amount to your liking)

2 sweet mini peppers, red and orange

8 slices of turkey pepperoni, quartered

1/6 cup of mild shredded cheddar

small handful of crumbled organic feta

dash of dry Italian herbs

Directions:

In your oven or toaster oven, broil the pita face down until bottom side gets toasty to your liking – watch it broil because it can take three to ten minutes depending on the oven! I like to throw it right onto the rack in the toaster oven or a cookie sheet if I am making multiples. Remove the pita and put the toasted side face down on a plate or the cookie sheet. Decorate the top as you would for a pizza: spoon enough sauce and spread it around. Then sprinkle some cheese and add the peppers. Toss on a little more shredded cheese to bind the peppers, but don’t over-do it or the cheese won’t melt enough. Add the pepperoni, feta, Italian herbs or whatever you’d like on the pizza. Place the pita pizzas back into the oven or toaster oven and broil until the cheese is bubbly, the feta begins to brown and the pepperoni bubbles and curls. Cut and serve but itself or with a side salad.

Nutritional Information:

I used my food scale and entered in my ingredients into the MyFitnessPal iPhone app and this particular pizza was just 368 calories and it had 18 delicious grams of protein!

Low Calorie Pita Pizza Calories

Low Calorie Pita Pizza Calories

Leave a Reply

